Facts about Fiji


Click here to zoom

The Republic of the Fiji is known for its lush vegetation. It is a tropical paradise made of approximately 330 tiny islands of which around 100 are inhibited. Located in the heart of the Pacific Ocean, Fiji is situated to the north of New Zealand and North West of Australia with a land mass of 18, 376 square kilometres.

Fiji covers about 1.3 million square kilometres of the South Pacific Ocean. Fiji's total land area is 18,333 square kilometres. There are two major islands - Viti Levu which is 10,429 square kilometres and Vanua Levu 5.556 square kilometres. Other main islands are Taveuni (470 sq km), Kadavu (411 sq km), Gau (140 sq km) and Koro (104 sq km). 87.9% of land is owned by indigenous Fijians while 3.9% is State land. Freehold land comprises 7.9% and Rotuman land is 0.3%.

The capital is Suva and it is one of the two cities in Fiji. The other city is Lautoka and both are located on the island of Viti Levu. The islands are surrounded by sandy beaches and reefs with mountains covering the centre of most of the islands.


Fijian culture & tradition



Fijian Administration

Meke (dance)

Yaqona drinking

Bark cloth and traditional textiles

Mat and basket weaving